“I better be invited.”

Is there a phrase in the English language that is more rude?! It’s amazing how many times I’ve heard it in the six days I’ve been engaged. Here is a newsflash, if you have to ask you probably weren’t going to be invited and if you were going to be invited, you’re not after saying that! Asshole.

Being invited to anything, be it a party, wedding, or threesome is not a right, it is a privilege. There are a bazillion reasons why you might not be invited to an event, regardless of how close you are to the host. The host could gave a giant family, small budget, and/or social anxiety in big groups. Or, in my case all three!

Before you make such a douchebag statement, why don’t you think for a second about all the time, money, and organization that goes into planning even the smallest gathering. The guest list doesn’t necessarily indicate your place in the host’s heart, but making such a rude statement pretty much cements yourself into the “never invited anywhere” group.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on ““I better be invited.”

  1. Carly says:

    Amen sista… coming from someone who had a VERY small wedding, I can completely understand the sentiment. And so begins wedding planning hell… or not, should that be your choice :P

  2. Doug says:

    I think when I first heard about the engagement I may have mentioned something like the phrase noted above…I do not remember if I was serious or in what context, but in the case where I did I apologize for being an “Asshole” and can’t promise I won’t play that part again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

