I Don’t Know What I Want to be When I Grow Up

Is almost-30 too late to start figuring out what you want to be when I grow up? How about after already receiving an advanced degree? Yeah, I figured. I know I’m late to the party, but I’m still trying to decide which shoes to wear! Sure, I mostly enjoy my current job (public relations), but it’s extremely political and I just don’t have it in me to take people out on my trek to the top. Plus, I am not sure I ever want to be management, which is probably my next step. Who aspires to be in charge of disciplining other people, sounds awful to me but my wallet would really love a management salary.

So, I have been thinking a lot about making a career move. While I would probably just tweak my current career path, it is always fun to consider something completely different. Here are some options I came up with that all sound extremely appealing, minus the whole going back to school part.

Wine Connoisseur – True story: I took a career aptitude test my senior year of high school and this was at the top of my list. It’s a shame that I was a complete square and would wait three years before tapping my first box of wine and falling in love with the drink of the gods. I will say that the aptitude test was pretty accurate as this sounds like the perfect gig: drinking, traveling, AND criticizing! LOVE it.

Math Teacher/Basketball Coach – One of my favorite high school teachers was my statistics teacher (and of course I cannot for the life of me remember his name! Any Marina Vikings out there…who taught AP Statistics in 1999-2000?) and he told me that I should become a high school math teacher slash basketball coach. Ignoring the fact that high-school-aged kids are pretty much the worst people on the planet, this also sounds pretty legit. I would have loved to get into coaching and, despite denying it and the fact that I am a girl, I really do like math. Good thing I got a master’s in communications, right?!

Consignment Shop Owner – I recently told the BF that my ultimate perfect job would be to own a consignment shop. And I’m not talking about those crappy shops that stock clothes from Forever 21 and Old Navy, I am talking about a shop that carries mainly vintage frocks. This job would let me combine three of my amazing skills – public relations/marketing, my perfect fashion eye, and my sewing skills… I figure I could offer tailoring/alteration services on my store items. Apparently, this job is for old rich women who have nothing to lose. At least that’s what the BF tells me. I’m out.

Other – Other professions I have considered: nursing, blood doesn’t bother me and I don’t get too attached to people, but I am horrible at anatomy and don’t like the idea of cutting a wittle froggy; journalist, sort of in line with my current profession except it’s way more unstable, I would get paid jack, and I have to ask people how they’re feeling after their baby just got snatched by coyotes; dog walker, Indy would get pissed when I came home every day smelling like dogs; animal shelter director, I would need to move to a farm to have enough room for all of the animals I adopt; housewife, I am way too boring to hang out with me 24-7.

So, after talking myself in circles, I end up right where I started: my job is fine. *sigh*
Tagged , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “I Don’t Know What I Want to be When I Grow Up

  1. Erin S says:

    I completely understand how you are feeling! I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up either … Maybe we should create our own fabric line??? Haha just a thought 🙂

  2. Lara says:

    Mr. Dawdy taught AP Stats. 🙂

    As a high school teacher, I can assure you it is amazing. And also VERY difficult. Just FYI.

    • meanBUTfunny says:

      YES! Mr. Dawdy, I knew I was going to feel dumb when someone said his name.

      And, I won’t pretend for one second that I could actually survive as a teacher. I did not envy you, but I admire you and all other teachers.

  3. Sweet Tooth says:

    We should start a business where we can help people figure out what they want to be when they grow up. I can be our first client since I have no idea what I want to be. FYI being a housewife is interesting but it can get old really fast even after picking up several hobbies. 😀

  4. Shannon Tark says:

    by the way, this reminds me I have a new business idea for you. i actually stole the idea from a friend who has a friend who is currently doing it in Oregon…double-decker bus that sells clothes…a traveling clothes shop…like a food truck for fashionistas! let’s do it…I’ll get my bus drivers license and you figure out all the clothing stuff and we’ll park it near places where people shop already. Consignment would work well too, little cost for inventory that way I guess

  5. Part time hostage negotiator has a certain appeal to it. I prefer being a professional honker. When you are in traffic, and that idiot cuts you off, you need to honk.

    I can be that professional.

Leave a Reply

